Hungary. 50 Forint 2007. Treaty of Rome

50 Forint Commemorative Coin 2007

50th Anniversary of the Signing of the Treaty of Rome


The first step towards the development of the European Union was the foundation of the European Coal and Steel Community in 1951. To speed their integration, the founding members -- Belgium, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, France, Italy, and West Germany -- signed the Treaty of Rome and so established the European Economic Community (EEC) and the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom) on March 25, 1957. The prupose of the EEC was the create overall economic integration among the members based on the freedoms of movement of goods, services, capital, and people, through a common market and customs union.

From a total mintage of 2,000,000 coins, just 12,000 pieces were selcted for mounting in this custom, serially-numbered blisterpack.



View Cart
Sign up to receive special offers and promotions